Nominees & Special Awardees for the 37th Annual International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA), Saturday, May 11, 2019 at the Pegasus Hotel, 82 Knutsford Blvd, Kingston, Jamaica, West Indies.


Be a part of the process and help to select the winners for 2018 for the 37th International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA)! Select one nominee per category. Your decision should be based on materials released between January 2018 and December 2018. Also, consider the social relevance of materials; originality and sales; the scope of local and national performances; quality of performances and stage appearances.


Vote online at  or submit your votes to IRAWMA, c/o. Martin's International; 1325 South Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605.  VOTING ENDS APRIL 20, 2019! Limited special promo tickets for the 37th IRAWMA which will be televised within thirty days following the ceremony, now on sale at

Like IRAWMA on Facebook @irawma and/or visit for information and/or to be a part of IRAWMA.




33. Inductee (s) IRAWMA Hall of Fame/Lifetime Achievement Award                                    

  • Alan Hope, aka. Mutabaruka

  • Boris Gardner

  • Tony Rebel


34. Martin’s International/IRAWMA Reggae/Jamaica Person of the Year 2018

  • Hon. Olivia “Babsy” Grange

35. Special Freedom Fighter Honor 

  • Martin’s International and IRAWMA are pleased to present the “Freedom Fighter Award” to the International Civil

      Rights Leader, Rev. Jesse Louis Jackson, Sr.


36. Special Emperor of Reggae and World Music Honor 

  • Martin’s International and IRAWMA is pleased to posthumously, bestowed the title of  “Emperor of Reggae and World

      Music” on the late great Robert “Nesta Marley” – O.M.


37. Special Award For Exceptional Media Contribution to Reggae Over the Years

  • Balford Henry 

  • Barry G. (Barry Gordon)

  • Ka’bu

  • Dennis Howard

  • Norma Brown

  • Winford Williams


38. SPECIAL:  IRAWMA Entrepreneur Award

  • Josef Bogdanovich


39. SPECIAL:  IRAWMA Reggae Lovers Rock Legend Award


40. Martin’s International/IRAWMA Award of Honor 

  • Clifton “Specialist” Dillion – For outstanding and extra-ordinary contributions to reggae music

  • Donald Kinsey – for 50 years of contributions to Reggae and world music

  • VP Recordsfor over 40 year’s contribution to Reggae Music


41.  Martin’s International Special Salute:  TheReggae50 – Pioneer Award of Honor 

  • Bunny Wailer

  • Chris Blackwell – Island Records

  • Copeland Forbes 

  • Freddy McGregor

  • Johnny Nash

  • Judy Mowatt

  • Lee “Scratch” Perry

  • Marcia Griffiths

  • Rita Marley

  • Skatalites

  • Sly and Robbie (Separate/Together)

  • The Heptones

  • The Alpha Boys Band

  • Toots Hibbert

  • U-Roy 

  • Ibo Cooper

  • Tommy “Yes indeed” Cowan





Again, please note that all winners will be /revealed LIVE at the 37th Annual International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA), on Saturday May 11th, 2019. It will be post broadcasted nationally, soon thereafter.


Like us on social media @irawma and @thereggae50 or visit for more following the event.